Skip to content
The aim of this FAQ sheet is to provide the readers with useful information and tips on issues related to criminal law, court procedures, warrants and arrests regulations.
Be advised, the information you will find here is opinioned based only and may contain inaccuracies. Please also note that criminal law is always being updated and we cannot keep track of all these changes. The content of this page by no means can and intends to replace formal legal counseling. It is always recommended to turn to a lawyer for authoritative legal advice.
Q: What is a Texas Blue Warrant?
A blue warrant is issued against a prisoner who has violated his parole terms (whether he failed to meet with his parole officer, committed a crime or disobeyed a certain court order). This warrant authorizes any law officer to arrest him/her on the spot.
Q: There is a warrant on my name in Texas. I live in Washington DC and I am planning to get married. Can this warrant hinder me from fulfilling my wedding plans?
It is all a matter of the gravity of your crime for which the warrant was issued. If it is homicide, you will probably get married behind bars. If it is only class C misdemeanor, Texas’ authorities won’t bother to spend their time on it. You should consult a lawyer and inform him/her with the specific details.
Q: When does the the Statue of Limitation time starts counting and can it be delayed ?
Of course, there are cases in which the Statue of Limitation time has ceased running. These are quite rare cases but they certainly can occur especially when the defendant does not reside in the state.
Be advised, the Statue of Limitation begins from the moment you have committed the crime regardless of court procedures.
Q: What is the Statue of Limitation for various offenses in Texas?
The Statue of Limitation in the state of Texas is not the same for felonies and misdemeanors, the former being longer. You should know that certain crimes have no Statue of Limitation whatsoever. These crimes include homicide, manslaughter and some sex offenses of pedophile nature.
Generally speaking, The Statue of Limitation is usually 5- 10 years for thefts and sexual offenses not involving minors. For frauds, it is 7 years.
ACCEPTABLE USE POLICY AND TERMS
Important Note: This website is not affiliated with the U.S. Government or any State or Federal government agency and is not an official source of information. This is a private site. For any questions you may have please consult a lawyer.
Copyright ©2011- texasarrests.org. All rights reserved.